• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

WTFH

Booting up
Skier
It's a brand I've not seen mentioned on here, and even though I don't visit that often, I thought I'd share my review of a pair of skis from one of the guys behind the Bro skis of a few years ago.

IMG_2256.JPG

At the start of the season I was thinking that it was time to move on from my 10 year old Head Supershape Speeds. One of the things I've found since I stopped living on skiing forums is that I don't change my gear as often as I used to.
I mostly ski on-piste with the odd foray into powder. I’m not going to pretend I spend all day off piste. I’ve also been skiing long enough to know that I’m not an expert. I’ve been on stiff “Race” skies for about 15 years (2-3 weeks a year) and they are great on hardpack and well prepared pistes. When it got lumpy, they weren’t as much fun. I’m about 1.8m tall and weigh in on the cuddly side of healthy.

My initial thought was to go for something wider (although not as wide as my Seth Pistols) and a bit more forgiving. I posted on here looking for suggestions and various ones were made. Separately, I was contacted by an Ric Reiter who shared some research on width of skis and knee injuries (knowing that my knees aren’t great). He suggested that maybe I shouldn’t go too wide. The last part of my consideration was for environmental impact. Is it possible to get skis that aren’t just plastic and metal, or maybe have greener credentials?

And that’s how I ended up researching and eventually choosing a pair of Idris Skis. ( www.idriskis.com). The tops are made of fir, oak and bamboo. If you like a minimalist design, they’ve got it. Logo on the front, brand on the sidewall. Everything else is just woodgrain.