• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Lauren

AKA elemmac
SkiTalk Tester
Contributor
SkiTalk Supporter
Seems like it should be an easy question...

Asking for specifics on how you buckle your boots when you hike. Tight bottom/loose top? Vice versa? Snug all around? Similar to how you ski, or looser?

I'm still really new to the whole AT setup, stick to short hikes at this point (under 2-3 hours) and have a new pair of Dalbello Lupos. Skied them probably 1/2 dozen days this year, but only hiked with them 3 times (other days were just on the resort). I've tried to play with the buckles a bit, but I find when they're too loose my toes jam against the end when walking. When they're too tight, they're uncomfortable to hike in. When skiing...they are amazing. Just trying to find a happy medium for hiking. Not sure if I should have gone up a 1/2 size...but too late for that. So if anyone could comment on that front as well. Do you wear the same size in your regular alpine boots vs. AT boots?

nemesis256

Patrick
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I have them loose, so much so that some often become unbuckled from the movement. At one time I had problems with heel blisters and having the bottom one buckled helped a bit with that. Same size as alpine boots.

Not sure what to suggest other than keep experimenting. Something works eventually.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Bottom buckles finger tight, top buckles, palm tight.I buckle in the morning and unbuckle at the end of the day and do not need to adjust during the course of the day.

jmeb

Enjoys skiing.
Skier
Bottom buckles finger tight, top buckles, palm tight.I buckle in the morning and unbuckle at the end of the day and do not need to adjust during the course of the day.

For touring? No adjustments on way up or down?

I've struggled w/ similar. I think it varies a good bit boot to boot and how well it happens to fit you all the way around.