• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

murphysf

Ski Well, Be Well.
Skier
Hello

I am relatively new to waxing. I purchased an iron, a couple of plastic scrapers, and a 3 pack of brushes (metal, nylon, horsehair) last season. Last year I waxed 3 sets of skis two times.

Tonight I just waxed 5 sets of skis. While waxing I thought about the below items. I am fairly detailed oriented and technical hence the type of questions.

1. Protecting the floor? I waxed in my garage on saw horses, put an old drop cloth to catch any drippings. I guess I could have also done it in my driveway. After waxing I moved the saw horses and skis to the driveway where I scraped and brushed. I then took a broom and swept the scrapings into my landscaping. I used Purl Purple, I hope this is ok and not environmentally incorrect. So the topic or question of this item is for a home do it yourselfer what are some of the tips or ideas that would help keep the area clean?

2. My two scrapers seemed to get all gummed up with wax How to deal with this? I am not asking about sharpening but how to clean them. I soaked them in hot water and then took a razor blade and gently removed the tacky wax.

3. Cleaning brushes? My last pass was with the horsehair brush. It seemed to hold alot of the fine particles. I tapped in on the driveway to shake some of the fine particles free? I thought to run it under the hot water tap and then leave it out to dry.

4. What are the consequences if the scrape job is not 100%? Will the wax just come off on the first few runs? Similarly what if the brush out with the nylon and horsehair brushes isn't the best? I only used the metal brush once, which was after I cleaned the bases and brushed the skis tail to tip before I waxed them.