• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Hop turns?

tromano

Goin' the way they're pointed...
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
The last few times out i have found my self doing some hop turns in steepish (30*+) spots where it is a bit concave and the snow is inconsistent catchy crud. Usually I am just hopping in transition and finishing the turn normally. I have never done these before this year and the first few have been by accident. Is this a reasonable approach for the situation?

AmyPJ

Skiing the powder
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
@tromano, my husband does those in Lone Tree, I believe! He just skied it today. I look up there and shudder.

Josh Matta

Skiing the powder
Pass Pulled
yes it is. Could there be better ways? maybe. could there be worse ways for sure!

On another note if your tryin to hop of the ground with out using ski performance your doing it wrong.

crgildart

Gravity Slave
Skier
Freestyle coach used to make us do hop turns down the steepest 150 feet of vertical then turn around and.run back up fishbone then hop turn down again.

TS
tromano

tromano

Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Thanks for the encouragement, will keep them in my tool kit. May practice more like crgil suggested.

Crank

Making fresh tracks
Skier
Hop turns are a good tactic for skiing heavy crud. I recall a day skiing untracked snow on a 55 degree day in Vail's China Bowl. Fairly low angle stuff. I took off first, told my 11-year old son to jump up out of the glop and turn like I was. He followed me in and did just fine. We were with 2 Epic Bears we met up with out there. One was an advanced skier the other a solid intermediate...both had come off 3 days of instruction at a place that is much reviled on Epic (rhymes with barb). My son and I waited a good 5 minutes for them to make their way down that easy pitch.

Used to call them airplane turns back in the day.

mdf

entering the Big Couloir
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter