• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Hi, I'm from Alaska

firebanex

Making fresh tracks
Skier
Long time lurker of mostly the gear section on here. Born and raised in Fairbanks, Alaska. My parents stuck me on skis at age 3 in the driveway of our home and I've been skiing for the 28 years since. I was a race kid till I was 16 and finally realized that I really wasn't good at racing and joined the Ski Patrol instead. I'm working on my 15th year of volunteer patrolling and was elected Patrol Director 2 seasons ago. I've been patrolling for so long that it is difficult to adapt to skiing without a backpack full of stuff on my back or not watch every single person on the mountain in case something were to happen to them.

I spend 99% of my weekend ski time patrolling at Moose Mountain Ski Resort (resort is used pretty fast and loose..) we have the most unique lift in the country that I'm aware of. We use big yellow school buses as our lift, 40 people at a time every 10 minutes or when the bus is full. Skis are put in racks on the side of the bus and snowboards come inside. It's a system that has been working well since 1992. Our area is pretty big but doesn't have the population to support the cost of a proper chairlift and that chairlift would be slower than the current 10 minute WARM bus ride to the top. If your bored check out #shredthemoose on instagram or www.shredthemoose.com.

I'm really into gear and I currently have 8 pairs of skis in the house and another on order, only 2 of those pair belong to my wife. My addiction to gear is primarily what brings me to pugski, as does the lack of whatever makes TGR such a toxic place. Since I like bragging about my gears.. here is a list!

NSP edition 17/18Black Diamond Boundary Pro 107 184cm
Nordica 15/16 Enforcer 100 185cm
Head 17/18 SuperShape iTitan 177cm
Icelantic Pioneer 109 Ski Patrol Edition 190cm (On order, to be delivered in October)