• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Help me get my edges sharper

skifastflylow1

Booting up
Skier
I am in New England-lots and lots of ice.
I have been tuning my family’s skis for 2 years and with 2 racers there is a need for consistently sharp edges.
GS skis are tuned to 1/3 and SL are .5/3.
I am using moonflex stones with bevel guides for the sides and a beast for the bases.
I tune from 400 grit up to 1500 to try to get them as sharp as possible, but it feels like I can do more.
I grew up on hockey skates, so I know what sharp edges can do and what they feel like.
Do you have any suggestions?
Thanks

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
If you are using only diamond stones then you are not really sharpening the skis. You are only performing deburring and polishing operation on the skis.

You nee to get a bastard file (or one of the new fangle edge grinders to get the skis really sharp again.

Here are couple of Toko videos on edge and base edge tuning.

zeppo55

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Also taking down the sidewall is key.

James

Out There
Instructor
Don't touch the base edge unless it's damaged. - Other than remove the burr after you file. You do not have to "sharpen" the base edge.

No file, no sharp. Use a loop or magnifying glass to see what's going on with the edge. Chairlift footrests without rubber or missing rubber, damaged rubber cause lots of damage to a sharp edge.

1,500 grit for slalom or gs is overkill. If you're not filing sometimes, you're just polishing dull anyway.
Save time, no need to go that far with kids. Speed event, ok.
Otherwise, 400 is ok. When they get to the point they're doing their own sharpening they can take it further if they want.

TS
S

skifastflylow1

Booting up
Skier
This is all very helpful. Thank you!!
I do take care of the sidewalls with a tool.
What are the recommended files the side edges?