• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Hello from Upstate NY

Ivan

Out on the slopes
Skier
Hello everyone,

My name is Ivan. I am 29 yrs old, was born in Russia, and currently live in Binghamton, NY. I am a third generation skier; my dad (who is a very good skier) taught my sister and me how to ski when we were kids. I have been skiing since I was 6. When I lived in Russia, we used to ski on small hills around Moscow pretty much every weekend in winter.

I moved to the US (SF Bay Area) in 2012 with my wife to do a PhD, and in California we went skiing to Tahoe. I never trained with a coach or skied competitively, but I participated in GS masters races a couple of times in California. Then our son was born in 2015, and after that I did not ski as often as I had before.

I completed my PhD this summer and moved to Binghamton for work. I am excited to be much closer to ski resorts (albeit smaller ones) than we were in California. This ski season is pretty special for us, because I have started teaching my son (he is 3 yrs old now) to ski. Though I probably won't get to ski much this season and will spend most of my time on bunny slopes with my son, I am really excited about skiing with him. I attach a couple of ski photos with the little one.

As far as my skiing goes, I prefer ski groomed trails with hard packed (or even icy) snow. I use race stock skis and boots because I love how they feel, and I hope to get back to masters racing again at some point.

Attachments

• IMG_1831.JPG
    IMG_1831.JPG
    175.8 KB · Views: 7
  • IMG_1857.JPG
    IMG_1857.JPG
    155.8 KB · Views: 6
TS
Ivan

Ivan

Out on the slopes
Skier
Welcome an check out the Pocono meet up thread, Elk is a common destination which is maybe an hour south of you.