• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

MJA

Booting up
Skier
I've got a chance to pick up some 16/17 Supershape Speeds in 170 for short money. Looking for feedback as to whether I'd like the 170 and should jump on the deal, or whether I'm better suited for a 163. I'm 5'9" 150lb male, solid advanced but not expert, no racing background. I've got the 16/17 Titans in 170 and love them. My next ski up the quiver is an Enforcer 93 in 177.

Thanks!

rcc55125

Getting on the lift
Skier
I consider myself an advanced intermediate, I'm a Level 1 instructor working on my Level 2. I'm 5'-9" tall, 170 lbs; but I'm old.

My teaching ski is a Head iMagnum at 163 cm. My every day ski is a Head Raw Instinct at 170 cm.
Where you ski will make a difference on what length might be your best option. I spend 95% of my time on midwest hard pack. If you ski out west the 170 may be a good length for you. If your a midwest or east coast skier you may want to consider a shorter length.
The Head iSpeed is a short radius slalom ski best suited for groomed hard pack. The 170 cm has a 14 m radius, 163 cm has a 12.7 m radius while the 156 cm has a 11.7 m radius. Kind of depends on what sort of turns you want to make.
Next season I'm going for the iSpeed in a 156 for my certifications skis.

BTW, my out west powder skis are Head Monster 98's.

silverback

Talking a lot about less and less
Skier
I'm not sure why you want a 170cm/14m i.Supershape Speed (great ski btw) when you have a 170cm/14m i.Supershape Titan. Are you replacing the Titan?

TS
M

MJA

Booting up
Skier
I live in Utah. I spend most of time off piste at Alta and Snowbird on much larger skis. However I do enjoy groomer days at Deer Valley, which frequently occur when I have out-of-town friends/family visiting that prefer cruisers to LCC steeps.