• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Kurt

Ski 4 Life
Instructor
I am new to PugSki.com and was on Epic for some time; wealth of information, I hope I can give back somehow this season. I need new skis for an upcoming BASI Level 2 instructors course. I have read the various reviews of the Head Rally and Stockli AX and both sound like great fun with the ability to easily handle various turn shapes. I usually demo before buying but my BASI Level 2 starts before I can demo.

A few specs to help dial in thoughts: age 60, weight 180 lbs, height 6'1", some race background (too long ago to remember), more of a finesse skier, but like to drive skis rather than smear turns unless needed to dump speed. Current skis are Nordica nRGY 100, 177cm; Volkl Katana vWerks, 185cm; and some old Atomic DR2s, 172cm. Have demo'd a bunch of skis each year but have focused on all mountain and powder skis (really liked the Nordica Enforcer 93 and Stockli Stormrider 88 demo last season!). We will be training on glaciers in the alps in the fall so conditions will vary dramatically day to day. Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

KevinF

Gathermeister-New England
Team Gathermeister
I'm almost exactly your size (a few pounds lighter, an inch or two taller). I'm based in the northeast US; I skied the Rally quite a bit and found it a good choice for groomers and bump runs. Turn shapes could be modified easily and despite its short turn radius it could smear / slide turns through bumps fairly well.

Then I demo'ed the Stockli Stormrider 88's and never skied my Rally's again. I've sold the Rally's now and spent the majority of last season on SR88's. The only days I didn't pull out my SR88's were powder days.

I've demoed the AX... I found it to be a bit of a beast. A great ski if you could stay in its sweet spot, but not terribly forgiving of mistakes. SR88's were a lot more forgiving in that regard.

TS
Kurt

Kurt

Ski 4 Life
Instructor