• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

SusanneGoneSkii

Gone skiing....permanently!
Industry Insider
Hello there,

I am in the process of getting my new gear for the next season. I work as a ski guide for a hotel in Baqueira-Beret, ES and am on the slopes 5-6 hours every day during the season (off-piste as well).
Unfortunately, all European resorts closed down due to COVID19 in the middle of March, leaving me somewhat stranded and not being able to try out the ski boots I had shortlisted.
I'd appreciate any input that any of you might have, I am a little confused by the descriptions and technical features that are available on the HEAD website.
I have been skiing in Head Raptor 120RS last season and was extremely happy with them. I am a fairly aggressive and dynamic skier and prefer a high flex (120/130).
Again, thanks for the feedback in advance!
Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this matter!
All the best from the beautiful Val D'Aran!

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
Welcome to the site! If you're in the Raptors already you know that they are a substantial (heavy) boot. I haven't been in either LYT models but if you're happy with the Raptors I don't know what you'd gain other than lightness. If the weight hasn't been an issue, I'd stick with the Raptors. The only other thing I do notice about the Raptors versus a grilamid boot is the newer, lighter material is more stable flex-wise through varying temperatures.

AlpedHuez

Chasing that Odermatt form
Skier
These are all quite different boots, for different feet. Edge is for wide feet, Nexo for narrower feet, Raptor tightest for a race fit. Without knowing your foot profile, hard to comment or recommend one or the other. But if the Raptor works for you, why not continue with that?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester