• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

musicmatters

Getting on the lift
Skier
Looking for some feedback from people who have made a significant moved/relocation to be closer to a ski mountain.

I’ve been skiing for 35 years and currently 42 years old. Usually ski 7-10 days a year, but last year I did 25 days. I’ve really been bit by the skiing bug in the past 2 years and I pretty much obsess about it now. Always reading up (and buying) new gear, resorts, checking Pugski everyday, using a countdown app to track how many days to my next next ski day, etc Im really starting to recognize that a day skiing are the days that I am happiest, and as I get older wanting to find ways to get on the mountain as often as I can.

I live in Atlanta, so it’s a plane ride away to anywhere that’s decent. I’ve started to think about moving out west to be in a ski town. I’ve mentioned it to the wife a few times, and while it’s not totally out of the question, she’s not jumping at it as she does not enjoy skiing like I do.

What are some people’s experience with this that have done it successfully? If your single, I’m sure it’s easier, but with a spouse and 2 kids it takes more consideration. Did anyone have to “convince” their significant other?

Anybody do it and regret it?

Bill Miles

Old Man Groomer Zoomer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Well, when I retired I moved from Kansas to Idaho, where I live 13 miles from Sun Valley.
OTOH, I lived in Kansas for 27 years and didn't move then.

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
I contemplate the same thing..but it's harder here I think. US has more job mobility. And yeah, we both have good careers so it's not like one of us is going to be happy cleaning condos for a living..

Pat AKA mustski

It’s no Secret! It’s a Ranger!
Ski Diva Tester
SkiTalk Supporter