• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Has anyone older had an ACL repair with an allograft (donor) graft?

fuzzybabybunny

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I tore my ACL and have a slight tear in my medial meniscus.

The surgeon thinks the meniscus will either heal on its own or be repairable. It's my first time tearing my ACL.

I'm 33 years old, and my surgeon gave me the choice of either using my own hamstring tendons (autograft) or a cadaver tendon (allograft) to reconstruct my ACL.

If I was under 20 years old, he would *definitely* have me use my own hamstrings. For people over 40 he almost always recommend people go with a cadaver tissue.

I'm in kind of a weird age range so I don't know what to choose. I ski everywhere, paraglide, play tennis, dive, but no contact sports. I'll do drops and jumps but nothing too extreme.

If he uses donor tissue, it'll be non-irradiated because radiation is known to weaken the tissue. He wants to get it from an Achilles tendon of someone under 40 years of age. I'm leaning towards the allograft because the thought of more incisions and possibly compromising my hamstring muscle group has me worried. I checked out some YouTube videos of the hamstring operation and they take out huge strands of tendon with muscle attached.

Has anyone here used an allograft (donor tissue) for an ACL repair before? How old were you and how has it been? Which tissue did you use and do you know if the reconstruction was double bundle or single bundle?

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier
I tore my ACL and have a slight tear in my medial meniscus.

The surgeon thinks the meniscus will either heal on its own or be repairable. It's my first time tearing my ACL.

I'm 33 years old, and my surgeon gave me the choice of either using my own hamstring tendons (autograft) or a cadaver tendon (allograft) to reconstruct my ACL.