• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Greetings from the SFBay area

enkidu

Booting up
Skier
Hey pug-skiers!

I'm a newbie here, but not a newbie to the slopes. I started skiing around 7 when my home slope was Yongpyong in Korea (recently had the olympics there along with a few other resorts). When I started skiing there, we had two single person chair lifts; now the entire resort and skiing area there is a couple orders of magnitude bigger and better with more than a dozen high speed lifts and gondola. I took a long hiatus after graduating college, but recently rebooted my skiing in the Tahoe area and more recently Whistler-Blackcomb.

I'm going to be the big 5-0 this year; 5'7" and about (cough! cough!) 170 lbs. I currently ski 170 Head Rally's from a few seasons back. Fitted Fischer boots which were a Godsend (is there a God of skiing?) because I have bowed legs and straight boots absolutely *crush* my arches down. I thought everyone had debilitating foot pain from skiing until I got properly fitting boots.

I'm probably a level 7.x skier; I can handle moguls, steep slopes, wildly varying snow conditions with aplomb if they come at me one at a time. But if you combine any two, my form breaks down. I've figured out that it's fore-aft balance/stance management that needs work. So I'm working on that lately. Pulling your feet back when you speed up is completely new concept to me and one I need to practice and internalize.

Glad to be here! I already learned about powder leashes and the new MIPS helmet technology from reading the posts around here.

enkidu / Dan

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Welcome, Dan.

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
You'll find a bunch of Bay Area folks on the site. And even more from further inland. Make it a point to reach out and meet up with them on the slopes.

dbostedo

Asst. Gathermeister
Contributor