• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Chef23

Getting on the lift
Skier
I have been thinking about new boots for a while and made the move today to go in and try on some different boots. I decided to go to a local shop (I live in Mass) with a good reputation as we ski at different areas and will always be coming back home. I worked in the ski industry for about 15 years in the 80s to late 90s but am somewhat out of touch. I also remember it making sense even back then to let someone else fit me rather than trying to do it myself.

I am in my early 50s and have been skiing my whole life but not a ton the last 8-10 years as my kids were busy. I was still thinking a 130 flex boot as I am 6' 205 and in pretty good shape. With a D+ width and a fairly high arch/instep I went in thinking Nordica Speedmachine or Technica Mach 1 MV based on what the shop carries.

I wound up in a boot that wasn't originally on my radar the Nordica Promachine 120 which is a lower volume boot. It came down to the Mach 1 LV actually and the Promachine. Even in a 120 flex the Promachine felt stiffer than the Speedmachine and Mach 1. We will see how it stiffens in the cold but it has way more support than my current boots which are a 110 flex (emergency buy after a cracked boot before a vacation).

The fitter did some work taking some volume out of my footbed and the boots felt good in the shop. I am sure they will need some work to get them perfect but I am sure I can go ski on them as they are. I will probably just ski local at Wachusett once they open to get a half day in before I head up north.

It was a good experience the fitter was patient and knowledgeable. I hate buying new boots but I think these will be good. I am excited to get on the snow.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I have had great success fitting this boot this year. BTW, which soles did yo do, Gripwalk or DIN?

TS
C

Chef23

Getting on the lift
Skier