• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

First time skiing, calves won’t even let me do it, help!!!

Brianna

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Please be kind thanks!!
Back story- This is my first time skiing this year on a small family vacation- we tried skiing for the first time last year and we loved it so much we decided to take a few days out for it!! I had been skiing for a few days and had a great time!!
This year, we did the same thing as before- rented the skis and out for a lesson we went! Right away, within 5min waiting on skis for the instructor to start the lesson, I started feeling horrendous calf pain.,, I thought, well I really must not be used to it this year! I thought once we got moving it would ease up, but I hid my pain for about 10min before telling the instructor that I had to stop because of the pain, I was starting to panic because the Pain was so bad I didn’t think I would make it back to the rental place to get them off!
Right away the ski guys said that the rentals this year are all brand new… Last year they were all older and more worn in and they have had some complaints from women because our calves are bigger? I went to another area that had women’s ski boots and I got a pair to rent there and they did feel better… But not for long I would give this one 10 minutes instead of the initial two minutes before I had to say I had to stop! It’s extremely upsetting that we made a whole trip out of this and it made me so happy to ski last year and this year I can’t even make it more than a few minutes because my calves are in such extreme pain!!