• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Comparison Review Doug's 2020 SIA Reviews

Doug Briggs

"Douche Bag Local"
Industry Insider
SkiTalk Tester
The conditions at this year’s SIA were a few inches of fresh snow on top of a firm base. Not ice, but snow that had probably been warm for a bit then set up. Edgeable yet slick if you weren’t paying attention. I like to ski hard and fast on piste. Most off-piste snow was just plain nasty frozen mank, so we skied the piste most of the time. My background is racing as a youth in the early '70s and a return to racing in 2002 that continues today. So when I’m on piste, I’m usually making carved turns with brushed turns for variety and speed control.

Atomic Backland 107
Dimensions: 137-107-124
Radius: 18.5m@182cm
Sizes: 175, 182, 189
Size tested: 182
Design: NGT

I have some older Bent Chetlers (125mm) so wanted to see what the Backland was like. It is an easygoing ski for three-dimensional snow. It provides more performance than the Bent but is not as playful and loose.
  • Who is it for? Backcountry skier who wants a more traditional ski than a Bent.
  • Who is it not for? Carving junkies.

Atomic Savor 5
Dimensions: 104.5-72-94
Radius: 20m@167cm
Sizes: 140,149, 158, 167, 176
Size tested: 167
Design: All New

This ski was designed for the beginning skier. It is mild-mannered and boasts a sweet spot from tip to tail.
  • Who is it for? Never evers.
  • Who is it not for? Everyone else.
  • Insider tip: Not for insiders!

Augment All Mountain 77 Ti-Carbon
Dimensions: 121.5-77-107.5
Radius: 16.5m@175cm
Sizes: 167, 175, 183
Size tested: 175
Design: NGT

I didn’t note my specific feelings about this ski, but I did enjoy it. It is hard not to like a 16.5m ski that is fat enough to deal with 3D snow.
  • Who is it for? Piste-oriented skier who likes to play in the snow on occasion.
  • Who is it not for? Race-inspired skiers.

Augment Sport Carving

Dimensions: Unpublished