• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Do you wear elbow/knee pads?

Do you wear knee and/or pads?

• All the time, up and down

Votes: 8 28.6%
  • Only while lift or shuttle served riding

Votes: 2 7.1%
  • Only for the down

Votes: 4 14.3%
  • Only when trying new things or trails

Votes: 1 3.6%
  • I have them but forget them at home more often than I wear them.

Votes: 2 7.1%
  • No

Votes: 11 39.3%

• Total voters

firebanex

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I had a lot of thinking time on my very wet and slippery ride today, couple close slides and some near crashes while climbing slippery roots and I got to wondering. None of my riding friends wear pads and I rarely see any local riders wearing pads unless there is a race going on. I briefly looked around on here and on mtbr.com and it seems that maybe like helmet use and skiing, wearing pads in mountain biking might eventually become the norm?

As I'm still pretty new at riding mountain bikes, do you wear pads when riding? Or is is situational for you?

Erik Timmerman

So much better than a pro
Instructor
I always wear them lift-served. Rarely anywhere else. I'd like to have a decent pair that I could put on without taking off my shoes. Then maybe I'd whip them on at the top of a longer climb.

Johnny V.

Half Fast Hobby Racer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
No, but nothing I ride is that crazy. If the roots, rocks and logs are wet and slippery (except for an occasional spot), I don't go out. My wife who's leg skin is like tissue paper wears shin guards on the few occasions she rides in the woods.

crgildart

Gravity Slave
Skier