• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Choosing type of mtn bike for beginner rider

kimmyt

My Rack Is Bigger Than Yours
Skier
My kid is getting his first pedal bike for Christmas and I want to get a mountain bike so we can ride together as he gets older. I'm a bit overwhelmed at all the choices, and don't really have too much time to demo with two small children constantly running around. I can get a pretty sweet deal on a certain bike but it would be a mid-higher end hardtail. I feel like this might be a good option because some of my time on the bike will be spent on normal rails to trails and pulling our bike trailer, while other times will mostly be on easy-moderate singletrack with friends. Does a hardtail sound like a good fit or should I only be looking at full suspension?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I have little experience with mountain biking (moderate experience with road bikes etc) and am also being a bit price conscious because I am not sure how into it I will get. I am thinking that for the price I can get this bike, I might be able to upgrade in a few years to something with full suspension...

K.

luliski

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
My kid is getting his first pedal bike for Christmas and I want to get a mountain bike so we can ride together as he gets older. I'm a bit overwhelmed at all the choices, and don't really have too much time to demo with two small children constantly running around. I can get a pretty sweet deal on a certain bike but it would be a mid-higher end hardtail. I feel like this might be a good option because some of my time on the bike will be spent on normal rails to trails and pulling our bike trailer, while other times will mostly be on easy-moderate singletrack with friends. Does a hardtail sound like a good fit or should I only be looking at full suspension?