• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Can you ski on bad knees?

Phaceplanter

Booting up
Skier
I'm relatively new to the sport. I have a cousin I grew up with that I'd love to take skiing. He's never been. When I asked him about it, he said he'd love to, but doesn't think he can because he had an ACL injury a few years ago that he never rehabbed. Just let it heal on its own because of no insurance.

Seems obvious to me that you need a good pair of knees, but I've read if you do properly and you're not doing expert black diamonds, you don't actually put a lot of stress on the knees. Do I have any of this right?

Bad Bob

I golf worse than I ski.
Skier
Yes you can says someone with a bad knee. You stop more often.
A brace can help, even an off the shelf one from Walmart. If he has been living with this for a few years, he should be able to look at them and get an idea what can help.
Skiing smoothly with as little shock to the knee will help a lot too, but that will take some practice.

If he wants to ski he can.

trailtrimmer

Stuck in the Flatlands
Skier
If he has visions of blower pow in trees and slaying bumps, it's not going to happen.

However, trenching groomers where everything is smooth and more predictable is totally on the table.

Do you have a small local hill to go rent and test on? Getting out on narrow soft rental skis doing snow plows and wedge turns for an afternoon will tell you guys pretty quickly if there is a future in it.

ADKmel

Skiing the powder
Skier
I ski with old wrecked knees. severe arthritis, torn mcls. no surgery. no I can't jump 10ft into bowls, have to mind my ps and q's in the bumps and my knees tell me real fast 'don't do that" today's skis, boots I think help a lot. I love my Z-90's because they are so smooth and no pain ever skiing this ski.