• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Budget Lights

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
That time of year in the northern tier of states. Not enough daylight left to ride after work without lights.

I have been riding the same two-light setup for a few years. The bright but cheap Chinese light I've been using on the bar died last year. I have a really nice made-in-NH DiNotte light that's still working like new. I can keep it in on the helmet or move it to the bar. I need a replacement for the cheapo. Can't afford another DiNotte.

Light has to run for two hours on high. Thinking it might be nice to have an integrated light on the helmet and dispense with the dangling wire issue.

Thoughts?

Tom K.

Skier Ordinaire
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter

firebanex

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I'm a sucker for led lights and sales.. so I've picked up quite a few different self contained lights from Bontrager, Cateye, Light and Motion, Niterider, and Cygolite in the 400-500 lumen range and they all work on high for somewhere between 1.5 and 2 hours. My preference is to the Light and Motion Urban 500 and Bontrager Ion 450 right now, they have easier mounts and a beam pattern I like better. I use the Bontrager Ion 450 as my DRL on flasher mode all summer and it gets service as a backup emergency light for winter fat bike riding.

You might try your local Trek dealer and see if you can talk them into a deal on the Ion 800.. my local shop has discounted all their remaining 800 stock for 50% off cause the new Ion 1300 is out shortly.

Now it might be stretching your budget but my absolute favorite self contained light right now is the Light and Motion Taz 1200, it has 2 spots and 1 flood emitter.. the beam pattern is glorious and it's "only" $130. Medium beam is still 600 lumens and 3ish hours of light. This light is big and heavy, not so good for helmet mounts

Last edited:

Rod9301