• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

pack21

La vita è bella, non sprecarla.
Skier
Hi,

Someone could give me a recommendation, for what kind of boots and flex should i look to play between trees, moguls, bumps, 3D snow. I will not walk (mode), only resorts, i'm 5.9ft 187.4lb and will be to use with my new enforcer 93 185m.

I'm looking to Tecnica Mach1 110Flex and Speedmachine 110/100Flex

I read somewhere that to play and trees, moguls, 3D, boots should be soft in flex to allow rapid adaptations to the terrain.

I'm grateful for suggestions.

Thanks.

ScottB

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I am a race coach and love to carve, so I ski all the terrain you speak of in 140 flex Lange raceboots. I am also a 2XL person. You can use any boot to ski what you desire. What would make the most sense for you? If you are not an ex-racer, don't bother with a race boot. Get an all mtn boot, like a Lange RX or XT series. Buying it small enough and having it fit right is critical. The flex of it is decided by your weight and height, and personal preference. You should be in the 100-120 flex range. The exact brand and model goes by what fits your foot and the closer to expert skier you are, the higher level model boot you want. Higher level boots give more precision and control over your skis. If you don't have the skills developed yet, too much precision can arguably be a bad thing. I wouldn't go below mid level model, start there and go up as you feel you need.

Softer flex helps to absorb shock in moguls, but can hurt your ability to pressure your tips to drive your skis into a carved turn. I like my 140 flex most of the time, in moguls I would probably prefer a 130 flex boot. Since I don't ski moguls all day long, I am happy with the 140 flex.

Doug Briggs

"Douche Bag Local"
Industry Insider
SkiTalk Tester
Softer for the terrain you are talking about is possibly preferred. Until it isn't.