• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

General Backcountry Instruction Northeast US

Crank

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I have some backcountry experience and have skins and AT bindings. I want to get my SO Robin into it but would prefer to find an introductory class that includes gear rental. I know EMS has classes in the White Mountains and I think AMC may have some as well. Does anyone here have any experience, suggestions, recommendations for a good intro to BC course we could take here in NE?

Dave Marshak

All Time World Champion
Skier
Look for avalanche courses around Mt Washington and Tuckerman Ravine. Maybe search TGR or timefortuckerman dot com if that is still up.

dm

nemesis256

Patrick
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I took the intro to backcountry from EMS in North Conway this past winter. It was worth it, they also offer gear rental. The class was slightly customizable, I got some very basic avalanche training, partly only because the other 2 guys I was doing it with were ok with it too. It was far from enough to really be knowledgeable in avalanches though. I'm ok with that though, I stick to trails under the tree line, so far at least.

The part that might suck is that you'll likely want to make reservations ahead of time, so you won't know what the conditions will be. I was lucky enough to do it the day after we got a few inches of snow.

at_nyc

Getting off the lift
Pass Pulled
I have some backcountry experience and have skins and AT bindings. I want to get my SO Robin into it but would prefer to find an introductory class that includes gear rental. I know EMS has classes in the White Mountains and I think AMC may have some as well. Does anyone here have any experience, suggestions, recommendations for a good intro to BC course we could take here in NE?
Crank, if I read your post right, you want to sent Robin to do some back country stuff like skinning up and skiing down for real?