• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Northern Rockies/Alberta Anyone have experience with Big Sky's Ski School?

TonyPlush

Out on the slopes
Skier
We have a group of 5 skiers coming to Big Sky for 4 days in March. The group is kicking around the idea of getting some sort of group lesson for one of those days.

We are all nearly identical skill level. We can ski any Western blues and most blacks with confidence. Can get down some double blacks, but it won't always be pretty.

We're all self taught, so this would be our first ski lesson experience. My main goal would be to pick up tips to make me a better skier, while also being shown around the mountain to cool spots we'd otherwise have trouble finding. If we could get intel on snow conditions or stashes to make our next few days on the mountain more enjoyable, that would be even better.

I called the Big Sky Ski School, who suggested the 5 person, full day family private lesson for $175 per person. They also mentioned the full day Guided Experience for $177 per person. The main difference being that the guided experience is more about mountain exploration and the family lesson would be more technique focused.

Has anyone done either a lesson or guided experience at Big Sky? Any advice for our group?

martyg

Making fresh tracks
Industry Insider
Look up a young man with the last name of Lyman. Don't know his first name - but I have met him.

His dad is one of our trainers, and IME one of the best trainers in PSIA-RM. I assume that skill st has been bestowed upon his son.

James

Out There
Instructor
My main goal would be to pick up tips to make me a better skier, while also being shown around the mountain to cool spots we'd otherwise have trouble finding. If we could get intel on snow conditions or stashes to make our next few days on the mountain more enjoyable, that would be even better.