• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Any experience with the Sidas foam liners ?

passeparici

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hello,
Is there someone with some experience with the Sidas Foam liners ?
I was wondering if the Classic PU Race was not a bit too stiff to wear all day long.
There is the PU Comfort liner but it takes a bit too much space in my boots

glencoe

Booting up
Skier
I’ve been using the full race liners for all skiing since 1994. I wouldn’t use anything else.

otto

Out on the slopes
Masterfit Bootfitter
I have been injecting Sidas liners since the early eighties. Stiffness in a foam liner is controlled by the chemical mix in the foam, ( ratio of catalyst to base % ), the amount of volume available between the foot size and shape and the shell volume, the amount of structure built into the liner itself ( like cuff reinforcement or pre-padding of the ankle pocket, etc ), and lastly whether you allow the foam to bleed out naturally versus clamping of either outflow or inflow of the mixed foam.

Inherently, the Classic PU Race liner has no pre-padding and the liner itself does not have any stiff structural additions. So the result you get from that liner is relative to the guy that does your injection, the foam mix, and the volume difference between your foot and the boot shell volume.

Good luck!

Tony Storaro

Glorified Tobogganer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Yep. Been on PU Race for the last 2 seasons in my RS 130.
The experience has been mostly fantastic. Excellent fit and as I said in another thread- I love the fact that the tongue is removable which means you can move it up and down in the boot a bit for a better feel.

Not in love with durability tho, they get easily scuffed by the constant ins/outs of the shell as I prefer to wear them racer's style-laced up and after 2 seasons they started developing small cracks in the material in the ankle areas .