• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

A complete noob wants to get into mountain biking

Lvovsky /Pasha/Pavel

i hiked the ridge... twice...
Skier
A complete noob wants to get into mountain biking. Haven’t ridden any bike in years. Has an 80s road bike of questionable size. What should one buy and what questions to ask in a shop? Why this cheapo thing is bad or good:
Asking for friend. 5’11” 160lb. Haven’t done any research yet- clean sheet of paper...

Tony Storaro

Glorified Tobogganer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
What should one buy

Ermmm.....a bicycle?
A hardtail one. Cross country.29".

With bicycles only height of the rider is relevant, not the weight. Well unless you want to buy Pinarello Dogma F12 and weigh 130 kg, in which case you are out of luck. :) But these cost like 15k USD so better not talk about them.

180 cm is the lower L frame, could fit in M as well perhaps. Alloy frame. Shimano SLX groupset is more than good enough. Platform pedals.

There you go.

Last edited:

Tony Storaro

Glorified Tobogganer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
@Tony Storaro Why hardtail? Does full suspension requires technique or is just something needed for advanced trails?

Well you said you were a noob and wanted something to start with. Full sus in the inexpensive entry level bikes will be quite a lot heavier, that's first and second-learning to ride a hardtail makes you a whole lotta better rider long term. Full sus does not require any special or different technique-au contraire-riding a hardtail makes you pick your lines more carefully.
Full sus will also be more expensive-for the same amount of money you will get much more bike with a hardtail.

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
@Tony Storaro Why hardtail? Does full suspension requires technique or is just something needed for advanced trails?