• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

1st Avalanche Package - is there anything better than BCA Tracker 3 Combo?

Decreed_It

I'd rather be skiing
Skier

Tricia

The Velvet Hammer
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I'm no expert, but I've sat through some clinics on various product like this and the BCA Stuff always seems simple to understand.

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier

Analisa

Making fresh tracks
Skier
Can't vouch for that package enough. My boyfriend picked it up, and I wish I had gone with it instead of getting a T2 and whatever shovel was instock at REI.

Probe is a standard length and aluminum over carbon. At the rescue practices I've been to, it doesn't seem like anyone has issues with it being almost locked out, but not quite fully taught. Shovel is small enough where you're not setting yourself up to redline with a shovel head that's too big. For the beacon, OGL has a really robust review. They rank it 2nd, but the #1 choice explicitly says it's good for professionals and can be a little too much for a first beacon.

I'm sure someone's going to make a comment about going with a Barryvox since they have a slightly longer range, but range and beacon performance aren't one and the same. There's just a point in every avy class where they line up students and check the range on beacons. It's tangible, and you can see the number. But update speed is also really important (do you have to move slowly so your beacon can keep up?), and fine search (can you find the victim in 1-2 probe strikes or does it seem to take more tries?) also really impact how quickly you'll find a victim. When you factor in those other two variables, they're much more like equals.

pais alto

me encanta el país alto
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I just deleted a post because I posted something with a pro deal discount that isn’t available to everyone, sorry ‘bout that. Web cookies goofed me up.

amlemus

Putting on skis
Skier

jmeb

Enjoys skiing.
Skier